Central Rail Transport Museum

Director: Zakrevskaya Galina Petrovna

7(812) 315-14-76

190068, St. Petersburg, 50 Sadovaya street.

mrt@semaphor.ru


The Central Rail Transport Museum is one of the oldest technical museums in the world; it’s located in St. Petersburg.

More than 50 thousand exhibits accumulated in its collections since 1813 tell about transport science, railway machinery and equipment.

The museum’s exposition is chronologically arranged in 11 halls; going from one to another, visitors will learn all about the railway industry and its development, from the time of birth to the present day.

The museum’s collection covers all aspects and components of rail transport: locomotives and carriages, communication, automatics and control equipment, construction and wayside machines, bridges and other structures.

In addition to the original machinery, the museum’s collections include unique models of steam engines, carriages, bridges… The incredibly rich photographic collection depicts railway construction techniques used in Russia at various times; it’s a veritable chronicle of railway machinery evolution.

Центральный музей железнодорожного транспорта

Директор: Закревская Галина Петровна 

8 (812) 315-14-76

190068, г. Санкт-Петербург, ул. Садовая, д. 50

cmrt1813@yandex.ru


Центральный музей железнодорожного транспорта - один из старейших технических музеев в мире - находится в городе Санкт-Петербурге.

 

Более 50 тысяч предметов, поступивших в его фонды с 1813 года по настоящее время, расскажут о транспортной науке и железнодорожной технике.

 

Экспозиция музея, построенная в хронологическом порядке, расположена в 11 залах, последовательно пройдя которые, посетитель получает полное представление о развитии железнодорожной индустрии от зарождения железных дорог до сегодняшнего дня.
 

Коллекции музея отражают историю всех составляющих железнодорожного транспорта: локомотивы и вагоны, связь, автоматика и средства управления, строительные и дорожные (путевые) машины, мосты и другие искусственные сооружения.

 

Основная экспозиция музея наряду с подлинными предметами техники содержит уникальные модели паровозов, вагонов, мостов... Богатейший фотофонд музея рассказывает о методах строительства железных дорог в России, о становлении и развитии железнодорожной техники.